Scarf on Head

     I recently found a picture of my roommate and great friend, Jeri, and myself  that was taken in 1976. Or maybe 1977.  We were either at the beach or we had just come home. Our faces were  peeling and we looked quite ugly. So, what do you do when you are looking ugly?  Of course, you put “scarf on head” and head to the mall. We headed right to the photo booth to capture our beauty for all to see. We looked like lepers. I bet neither of us knew that 30+ years later, one of us would be posting our mugs on facebook.

The “scarf on head” look was very popular on our college campus during the 1970’s. I’m pretty sure that it was like that everywhere. We didn’t wear silky scarves. That would have been silly. And we didn’t tie them in front like a babushka. That was saved for Russian women and Queen Elizabeth.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fnkybee on December 2, 2010 at 10:41 am

    My ‘scarf on head’ is ‘hat on head’. I don’t know what I would do without my hat. I will admit I am a bit lazy and refuse to wash my hair and get all dolled up to run an errand so viola ‘hat on head’ and i’m out the door. Its a fabulously cute hat too! I love it.

    Reply

  2. This is so funny. I didn’t have ‘scarf on head’, but I did have bandanas for driving my convertible. When I wasn’t driving, I would wrap the bandana around my sock and have it tied there nice and pretty. Would that be called “scarf on ankle?” Many colors, feeling cool.

    Reply

  3. Posted by TheIdiotSpeaketh on December 1, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Kinda spooky that I am listening to the 70’s channel on the satellite radio as I read this….. Long live the 70’s! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment