Vincent Price…..Priceless

Halloween is approaching and it reminds me of the things that really scare me about this fun holiday. A lot of people would vote for the shower scene in “Pyscho” or Michael Myers in the backyard in “Halloween.” But for me, Vincent Price would be at the top of the list. I was afraid of him, but at the same time, I just had to watch his movies. His voice was menacing, but yet peaceful, soothing. I thought he could probably put people in trances. He had this look that would send shivers down my spine.

He was Hannibal Lecter of the 1950’s.  He could be the Pied Piper with that voice, making the children follow him out of town, hypnotized and ready to be eaten. Well, except I don’t think he was like Jeffrey Dahmer or anything in his films.  He was too sauve and cool to eat flesh. He smoked cigarettes, wore a suit most of the time in his movies, and was just crazy, again,in a suave and cool way.

I used to think “House on Haunted Hill” was the scariest thing ever. We would watch scary movies every Saturday night on Chiller Theater, before Saturday Night Live took over Saturday late night. Vincent Price starred in this movie, and gave me nightmares for days.

I remember staying overnight with Cindy, a friend who lived down the street, one night when “House on Haunted Hill” was on tv. We watched it. I was creeped out as usual, and went to her bedroom to go to sleep. Her closet door was open and Cindy asked me to close it. I guess she was scared also. But, of course, that wasn’t the case. Her mom was standing in the closet with a panty hose over her head.  Surprised I didn’t pee myself. I sure showed the neighbors I had healthy lungs, though. When I rented the movie when my children were tweens, I professed that this movie will scare them to death, they laughed at me. It was sort of 1950’s goofy-scary to them. I thought that a skeleton making a woman back into a vat of acid was pretty darn scary. I believe they used the word, “lame.”  The disappointed me so.

 

Vincent Price could have been in Heidi and I still would have been creeped out. It was his voice. There are many actors who are known for their voice, such as say, James Earl Jones, or Pee Wee Herman.. But, this guy left an impression. I loved it when Michael Jackson used him in “Thriller.”  It really added to the creep-factor. There was another movie that he was in called, “The House of Wax,”  which I thought was pretty scary too. I think Tim Burton used the scene of the burning dolls in “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” as a tribute to House of Wax. Don’t even get me started on his Oompah Loompah’s in that movie. I can get side-tracked talking about that creepy movie.

I don’t think there will be another scary movie that will affect me the way “House on Haunted Hill” did as a child. As I grew older, I found When a Stranger Calls and Invasion of the Body Snatchers to be the next best thing.  But, in the end, no one can touch Vincent Price, the king of horror.

 

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robin on February 3, 2011 at 1:02 am

    …AND he was a great cook and he and his wife wrote a few cookbooks… I have them and place them right next to “Grey’s Anatomy” book…the real book, not anything to do with the TV show.

    My favorite movie is House of Wax. He was sinister…creepy, debonaire and alluring..and I will forever be drawn to his movies like a moth to the flame…

    Love your posts!

    Reply

  2. Posted by barb baldwin on November 4, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    AHHH… Vincent Price. You are right about him!! A voice that could charm birds out of trees and I thought he was very good-looking too. Still think he’s right up there with the best of them.

    Reply

  3. WHAT? Your kids didn’t like him?!
    He’s the maaaaaaaasssssterrrr!
    You made me totally want to watch House on Haunted Hill,
    I was gonna watch some modern scary flicks, and WOE I almost forgot Vincent Price! D:<
    My friend might think it's lame…she likes really gruesome crazy horror movies.
    Now I know to get House on Haunted Hill though, yessssssss.
    I've been wanting to watch more VP movies, didn't know which to watch, because some are just crazy. Even he says they're crazy they're so crazy.

    Wellll thank you!
    &if you get this tonight, I have a last minute Halloween costume for tomorrow~? D:
    What should I do that I could just find around the house? I have many striped leggings…

    Reply

    • Oh, no, they just thought “House on Haunted Hill” wasn’t scary whatsoever. I kept telling them, “Wait, till you see this movie, it is soo scary.” lol

      Reply

      • Lol, you really are my best friend. 🙂

      • Is it too late for the Halloween costume? The only thing I can think of for the striped leggings is Pippy Longstocking…lol

      • Lol, yes but that’s coooool. xD

        I wanted to do that when I had hair down to my waist. :c
        There was so much I could have done but didn’t!

        Anywhooo, I did the heart on my sleeve,
        only it was a human heart and no body even recognized it/understood.
        Then, I just went to Burgerville and nobody STILL didn’t recognize it. . .
        haha.

        GUESS WHAT I TOTALLY WATCHED ON HALLOWEEN? 8D
        The Tiinnnngggllllerrr~
        CRAZY.

  4. I am a huge Vincent Price fan thank you so much for this blog!

    Reply

  5. When I was growing up I thought he was spooky, too. Spooky, but not so scary I could not watch. I remember watching “The Raven” in high school English class … that was a good one, too.

    Reply

  6. Posted by TheIdiotSpeaketh on October 26, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Great post! I had forgotten about many of those movies. I loved House of Wax. I remember when I was in Junior High, a local tv station would show classic horror movies late on Friday Nights and Vincent Price films were a staple on that channel. Obviously the man was typecast in those films due to his menacing voice but I can’t ever recall reading anything that said that he did not love being only associated with horror films. I saw him on Johnny Carson a LONG time ago and he was actually really funny.

    Reply

Leave a comment