Hello, Circadian Dysrhythmia

Benjamin Franklin was a very wise man, but I still curse him twice a year, nontheless. He was credited for coming up with the idea of Daylight Saving Time.  Ben thought that we should go to bed early and rise early so we could be healthy, wealthy and intelligent. I don’t think it works that way.  He thought that more daylight meant saving wax for all the candles. Maybe he was tired of reading his almanac by candlelight.

All I know is that I physically change all the clocks in my house, but my  biological, circadian clock won’t budge. We SPRING forward and FALL behind.  Sure, I gain an hour in the fall, but the time change messes with me for a good week. I am not looking forward to this at all. Sunday marks the end of Daylight Saving Time and the beginning of my moaning and complaining.

If you have ever suffered from jet lag, then perhaps you can understand what a shift in time can do to a person. I am tired. Circadian dyshrythmia. I have lost my rhythm. I become awkward in oh, so many ways.

So, who else can I blame for this? Surely not Arizona, the only state that will not buckle to the pressure to lose and gain time. Arizona has more sunshine than Florida, the Sunny Sunshine state. They don’t need a time shift.

In 1918, the United States adopted  Daylight Saving Time for the duration of  World War I. This allowed  people to spend more time hanging out in daylight, thus saving costs on fuel for lighting. It was abolished, brought back, abolished and then in 2005, Congress enacted the Energy Policy Act, which changed Daylight Saving Time dates again. As of March 2007, Daylight Saving Time begins on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday of November. It just sucks. Daylight Saving Time stays around now  past Halloween, where some little trick-or-treaters were getting hit by cars at night. Well, that is what reflective tape is for, my little munchkins. Trick or treating during daylight is just wrong. But, no one listens to me.
I would really like to know what the hell is saved? I know that it is a reminder to change the batteries in your smoked detector and Arm &Hammer let’s us know that it is time to change the box of baking soda in your refrigerator, but hey, that is just to strum up some business. The energizer bunny doesn’t suffer from the time shift. I bet more batteries are purchased around this time than at Christmas. Well, maybe not, but it’s a gimmick to change your smoke detector. But, as most of you know, the smoke detector will let you know when it is time. It will freakin beep at 3 minute intervals until you change the damn thing.
  The only thing that was fun about the time change was accidentally sleeping through church when we were small. Oops, Mom and Dad, you forgot to spring forward. Aw, shucks, we missed church. Looks like we can think about God from our warm beds.  I did convince a college roommate that it was against the law to change the clocks before 2a.m. I told her that it was a law enforcement thing. If the police were called to a residence for anything after 11pm and they wrote down the wrong time, it might be a critical mistake, so a law was enacted in West Virginia that stated that all clocks could not be turned back before 2a.m. or a $500 fine would be imposed on anyone who turned their clocks back earlier. She believed me and set her alarm for 2am to set her clock back. She was so easy.
  In the end, I still haven’t found anything that is saved.  All the deer in the United States live in West Virginia and cross the road on my way to work.  Do they suffer from circadian dysrhythmia? I bet they do.  Daylight Deer Time. Will they now operate an hour earlier or hour later?   School children will be standing at the bus stop in the dark, wrapped in reflective tape. Or wait. Won’t it be daylight if we turn back our clocks? That means they are wrapped in reflective tape just because. See, now I am confused about when it will be dark and when it will be light. This just sucks. I don’t need to be anymore confused than I already am.
I guess there is some good to Daylight Saving Time. Raccoons will have more time to pillage through garbage cans.  Robbers can eat breakfast at the home they are robbing.
I really can’t stress how much I hate the time change.
Damn you, Ben Franklin.

17 responses to this post.

  1. I’m extremely pleased to discover this great site. I want
    to to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have
    you bookmarked to see new stuff in your website.

    Reply

  2. I forgot to mention: my blog is about Circadian Rhythms and disorders thereof. Not very active now, but I think the info is still up-to-date. Good blogroll, too. 😉

    Why this blog

    Reply

  3. Hola! I’ve been following your web site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic work!

    Reply

  4. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with
    my twitter group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

    Reply

  5. […] Hello Circadian Dysrhythmia […]

    Reply

  6. […] Forward into the River   Hello Circadian Dysrhythmia    Go Fly a Kite, Benjamin […]

    Reply

  7. […] grew up to hate Daylight Savings Time…with a passion. I wrote two posts about the subject.  Hello, Circadian Dysrhythmia, that I wrote November 2010, when it was time to fall back, and then  Spring Forward into the […]

    Reply

  8. […]  We “Fall back” at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November by setting our clock back one hour. In March, tonight, we set them ahead one hour. This is where it really kills my poor circadian Rhythm. I wrote about it before. Because I like to obsess. https://dyingbraincells.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/hello-circadian-dysrhythmia/ […]

    Reply

  9. I do so agree. DST is unnatural. We are still mammals, and in spring (especially) we register the changes in day length — right up to that damned Sunday, then all bets are off. Had there only been a reasonable reason given for this nonsense. One should think that all (international, as well as to and from Arizona) transport companies would protest; they have to change their scheduling several times a year (as not all countries using DST do the shifts on the same dates).

    DST all year long would be fine.

    Reply

  10. Posted by smermaid on November 6, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    I enjoyed reading this! I, too, suffer from the bewildering days that follow the daylight savings time.

    Reply

  11. Loved the post, and sorry to hear the time change affects you so much. I enjoy the change in the fall as I feel I have won an hour of free time. I travelled to Hong Kong and India in the past few years and had a lot of trouble with jet lag but still enjoyed getting to live through the same day twice.

    Take care of yourself tomorrow morning, maybe a cookie with your tea in the morning would make the time change feel better. 🙂

    Reply

    • I don’t see it as an extra hour..lol..For example, I woke up this morning at 6:45, but my body knew that it was really 5:45. Tonight, when it is 11:00, my body will know that it is 12:00, and I really should have been in bed at 10:00 to make up for the hour. I hate it..lol

      Reply

  12. I complain about this, too … because my sleep patterns are very predictable (I can wait up without an alarm clock) .. the change really disrupts that.
    Personally, I would prefer to stay in the Daylight Savings Time instead of the “normal”. I live so far north, when we switch to “normal time” on sunday, I will no longer see the sun. Dark when I go to work, dark when I come home. With the daylight savings time, I do get to see some light after work.
    Not seeing the sunshine is the thing that bothers me the most …

    Reply

    • That would be awful. I too, can wake up without an alarm clock. It would be awful not seeing the sunshine before or after work. March is actually the worst month for me. I really need the sunshine and warmth…

      Reply

Leave a comment